Brain AVM (Arteriovenous malformations) and PIP — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Brain AVM (Arteriovenous malformations) and PIP

Alfie131
Alfie131 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
edited September 2017 in PIP, DLA, and AA
Hi Everyone 
I am new to the scope community - I am trying to help my 22 year old daughter she has a Brain AVM (Arteriovenous malformations) which causes her to have bad headaches and migraines and can at times cause her weakness and involuntary movements in her right side as a result of a bleed on the brain whilst pregnant  - she is currently being treated for it and is due to undergo radiation therapy to try to shrink it.  She has applied for PIP and has been told she is not entitled to it.  Is there any help or support she might be entitled to?

Comments

• CockneyRebel
    CockneyRebel Community member Posts: 5,209 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello Alfie and welcome

I am so sorry that your daughter  is having problems.

When was your daughter given the decision ?
    Have you requested a copy of the HCP report ?
    Have you asked for a Mandatory Reconsideration ?

PIP is primarily a functionality test if people have problems with daily living for three months and which are likely to last at least a further nine months.

PIP has been intentionally made difficult to qualify for and many people turned down in the initial assessment go on to receive an award at appeal.

If you can give us a little more info we might be ableto point you in the right direction

CR

Be all you can be, make  every day count. Namaste
  • Alfie131
    Alfie131 Community member Posts: 2 Listener