A Student who requests help! Accessible Kitchen Space! — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

A Student who requests help! Accessible Kitchen Space!

Ryan909
Ryan909 Community member Posts: 5 Listener
Hello my name is Ryan, I'm currently a design student working on a project about accessible kitchen spaces. If possible I would like to know what your disability is? As well as what problems you face within your kitchen space currently?

Comments

• shirleygreen
    shirleygreen Community member Posts: 10 Listener
    Hi  Ryan, I suffer with arthritis (mostly as the result of an accident over 20 years ago). I also have curvature of the spine. I am 5'2" and the main problem for me is storage and accessibility. I cannot reach 80% of the items in the wall cupboards and even less in the lower ones. The oven is a hazard! I cannot lift anything heavy from the oven!  Hope this helps as anything you can fo to help design kitchens and bathrooms which are more disability friendly the better. Hood luck with your project. Shirley 
  • thespiceman
    thespiceman Community member Posts: 6,388 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @Ryan909 Thank you for researching this and hopefully I can look to the future design a better Kitchen.

I have a genetic disorder of hands and feet plus other eyesight problems, hearing.

I live in a bungalow rent from a housing association.  About five years ago had new kitchen put in.  Which is very small.  I was given the chance to say what I want.  I would have liked someone to help, assist.   My pleas ignored.

Problem is the fitting of every thing you need.  To the extent no room for undercounter freezer.  In Bedroom.  Also have loads of cupboards, drawers many of which are unsuitable.  Some and most have space so small.  No one suggested anything.  Hard to sometimes remember where anything is.