Dealing with chronic pain 24/7 — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Dealing with chronic pain 24/7

Options
jaknbaz1
jaknbaz1 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
Hi i am new to this and would love to know how everyone deals with chronic pain 24/7 thanks 

Comments

• Ethel
    Ethel Community member Posts: 7 Listener
    Options
    I use a variety of pain medication, including Lidocaine patches, a TENS machine, music, pacing, visualisation, gentle exercise and movement. I use the principles of the Expert Patient Programme. I hope this helps.
  • pippy3
    pippy3 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Options
    I am also in chronic pain 24/7 and sadly I have used the Tens machine and every medication that the Medical people can give me.  I am currently taking oramorph medicine which sadly has been reduced by my GP...Now the pain is even worse and the only thing I can think will ever relieve it is not to wake up in the morning....but I am not suicidal, please do not think that.... But I can see no end to anything but continuous.!!! 
  • wrinkly65
    wrinkly65 Community member Posts: 28 Courageous
    Options
    reflexology,chiropracter, Tai Chi, Tens machine, steam room, visualisation- helps with tolerance to pain, turmeric, magnesium.
    if money is short i would go for tens and tai chi.
    using all these has made my life tolerable most days or in the least bearable on the worst,
    .the magnesium helps with sleep and restless legs.
    Also against advice I find best to take a nap mid day otherwise pain goes off Richter scale, just half hour.
    Sadly it is continuous but using above has made my life tolerable and mobility is improved, its slow but keep at it and find what suits you.
    Good luck
  • isabel1
    isabel1 Community member Posts: 11 Connected
    Options