Housing benefits stopping when I got PIP — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Housing benefits stopping when I got PIP

ste1965
ste1965 Community member Posts: 31 Connected
edited July 2019 in PIP, DLA, and AA
Hi im new to this site and was wondering if something ive been told is correct.
I was awarded PIP standard care and standard mobility i was on housing benefit a few months ago but that stop when one off my daughters started work is it true that now i get PIP both my daughters are no longer classed as non dependants.
If its correct that i can reclaim housing benefit and get the last 3 months off any rent my daughter has paid from when my PIP started refunded, im new to PIP and not really sure what help i can claim,
                                                                                                                                  Kind Regards
                                                                                                                                      Steve 

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,932 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi,

What other benefits do you claim and do you live with a partner that works or do you work yourself?

Your daughter starting work would not be the reason why your housing benefit stopped. It must have been another reason. Claiming PIP will mean you're no affected by any non dependent deductions.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • Adrian_Scope
    Adrian_Scope Posts: 10,935 Scope online community team
    edited July 2019
    Hello @ste1965 and welcome to the community.