Student loan payments — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Student loan payments

Kali85
Kali85 Community member Posts: 3 Listener
edited September 2019 in Education
Hi, 
I am studying part time with the open university, I receive ESA and PIP due to mental illness, I am worried about paying back my student loans, as although I am deeply hoping to be able to get back into work, sadly I am worried that I wont be be stable enough to work. Everything that I have read online says that I would have to be earning over a certain amount before student finance would deduct money from me, but what happens if I am not working at all? Can I be prosecuted? Will I they deduct money from my benefits? 
kind regards

Comments

• Adrian_Scope
    Adrian_Scope Posts: 10,821 Scope online community team
    Hello @Kali85 and welcome to the community. 
    Please don't worry, they won't prosecute you for not repaying and they won't deduct it from your benefits. In fact, if you've not repayed a student loan after a certain period of time, it's written off. 
    Student loan repayments have guidelines in place that mean you won't start repaying until you're in employment and earning over a certain amount. 
    You can find some more information about that here: https://www.gov.uk/repaying-your-student-loan/when-you-start-and-finish-repaying
    Community Manager
    Scope
  • mossycow
    mossycow Scope Member Posts: 500 Pioneering
    Hello! 

Fantastic you are studying! Gives you options no matter how your health is, all earning is awesome and you never know what work opportunities may come your way... Maybe even things we've not thought of yet! 

In terms of finance, I did my degree worked for a bit and paid a very affordable amount each month and it was taken straight off my pay so dead easy.