TO ALL COMMUNITY MEMBERS DEALING WITH ADDICTION — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

TO ALL COMMUNITY MEMBERS DEALING WITH ADDICTION

thespiceman
thespiceman Community member Posts: 6,388 Disability Gamechanger
Hello good morning to every one. I do have a lot of care, concerns those with addiction histories.

Being an alcoholic for thirty years, now clean thirteen next year.

I know this time of year those like me get the anxiety. The depression sets in the panics, emotions, fears all around relapsing.

Or even thinking of how to approach this time of year.

I have a lot of knowledge, experience.

Use if I can suggest some relevant points some guidance.

The first thing is you need to be aware of your own safety, is it important to be around those drinking.

Be organised have a plan.  Think what your doing.  Be practical sensible is this a good idea to go around town pub to pub if that is something going to happen.

With friends or work colleagues. 

If you have a sponsor from AA or rehab Councillor please talk to them. Right now. Discuss options, choices every one has a right.   Important word NO .

Not a problem if this going to be relapsing.  Understand if this going to be causing you a serious problems and find you undone all the work you have and your team have done.

I have always been honest and open.

With my issues.  In the past gone out have not had a drink for months then relapsed again, again thrown out of rehab.

Then the mental health starts again, depression, anxiety and much more pain. Why do this just say NO.

Have safety measures in place. Contacts of friends, sponsors numbers on your mobile.

Use Taxi.  One thing I used to do. Have a envelope, with money .  Spare for taxi fare and a note saying who I am my name, address.

Then any taxi knows you are take you home.

Doctors emergency numbers at home in a safe place.  Sponsors any thing or wish to call or be supportive.