Does Newcastle upon Tyne need a Community Engagement programme? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Does Newcastle upon Tyne need a Community Engagement programme?

Cam71189
Cam71189 Community member Posts: 5 Listener
Hello,
I am a Newcastle resident with mobility issues, PTSD + depression and a learning disability. The reason I described myself this way is because every aspect of this has placed barriers on me from social to economic.

I want to create a group that can meet up every month to arrange events, fundraising activities, general awareness and organise programs to help our community. I am of course very isolated at the moment but I want to make a difference and for such things as community engagement we need more than one person to make things happen. 

So Does Newcastle need a community engagement program? 

In conclusion, thankyou for reading; I hope to see a couple of responses or discussions regarding my question since I would love to know what people think. 

Comments

• Geoark
    Geoark Community member Posts: 1,463 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi, @Cam71189 sounds like a good idea, how would it differ from what the Newcastle Disability Forum does? https://ndf.org.uk/

Where such groups do not exist, I would happily encourage people to consider getting involved and trying to start something. Where an area has an established group or groups, I would recommend getting involved with them.

If what you have in mind is something different then yes it may be worth looking into starting your group.

As an individual I stood alone.
    As a member of a group I did things.
    As part of a community I helped to create change!

• Cam71189
    Hello Geoark,