Advice on PIP Assessor report — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Advice on PIP Assessor report

lmkg1315
lmkg1315 Community member Posts: 16 Connected
Hi! New here, just looking for some understanding as I am new to the PIP process! I received my written report today through the post (I only called to request it yesterday so I was quite shocked it came so early!). Based on what a PIP assessor writes in their report do the DWP usually go along with that or are they allowed to change the selection the assessor has chosen. For example (random example not from my form) if a PIP assesor has marked question 4 with Answer C do the DWP take that as it is or do they/can they change it to say answer B or answer D? Or is it more than likely the DWP just goes with what the assessor has answered?

Gosh I hope someone can understand what I mean, I'm just a little confused on the process as the PIP assessor actually witnesses you and your disability but the DWP don't so I dont see how they could change the opinion of the PIP assessor but I am aware its DWP that make the final decision.

Sorry for any confusion! Thanks for reading and sorry for scrambling brains in advance!

Comments

• thespiceman
    thespiceman Community member Posts: 6,388 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @lmkg1315    Pleased to meet you.

Thank you for joining and sharing.

I am one of the team of community champions. We guide, advise and support help members of our community.

Please may I suggest going to tag my friend  @poppy123456 who has expertise and knowledge. Is a member of our team.

Please will be in touch shortly.

Please any other questions please ask.

Please take care.

@thespiceman
    Community Champion
    SCOPE Volunteer Award Engaging Communities 2019
    Mental Health advice, guidance and information to all members
    Nutrition, Diet, Wellbeing, Addiction.
    Recipes
  • chiarieds