Many PIP questions — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Many PIP questions

Nashville
Nashville Community member Posts: 18 Connected
edited June 2020 in PIP, DLA, and AA
I am new to all this and haven’t even managed to get the PIP form to fill in yet.  My friend aged 65 and pre pension age has had a stroke and lost his language skills.  He is now out of hospital and getting carers 4 times a day to help him.  He is too young for attendance allowance but is entitled to PIP support I think.  As the process of applying requires speaking on the phone he will need to fill in the forms.  I sent for the forms by post over 3 weeks ago.  They have still not come.  His claim starts when the forms are returned.  Can this be right?  All views sought.  Am I in for a long haul?  Is this just the start of a ridiculously complicated process?  Why are the forms not downloadable?  Has anyone had the same problem?

Comments

• wilko
    wilko Community member Posts: 2,458 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello and welcome, as your friend has a speech problem because of his stroke it could be wise to try and inform the DWP of the friends condition and that you will be his representative you may need a formal consent form signed by your friend if he’s able.
  • woodbine
    woodbine Community member Posts: 11,521 Disability Gamechanger
    edited June 2020
    There could be a catch 22 question with this, firstly has he qualified for PIP for 3 months? and likely to for another nine months?, it could well be that he becomes over 66 during this period and may well have to wait until he is 66 and qualifies for Attendance allowance, the big difference is that AA has no mobility component and pays less.
    You should have received the forms by now, I would chase them up if he will qualify. Successful claims for PIP or AA are back dated to the day they receive the applications.