Epilepsy and work / adjustments — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Epilepsy and work / adjustments

hells123
hells123 Community member Posts: 33 Listener
edited June 2020 in Work and employment
Hiya I’m quite new to this, so please bear with me.  My ex partner has suffered with epilepsy for over 25 years, largely controlled with medication, has one or two absent seizures in work a month, 3-5 minutes recovery’s, momentary loss of concentration, I call them lights are in but nobody at home, no offence to anybody 8 in total over 12 months.   he is a security guard And has been doing the job for over  15 years,  lately has had some decision making that makes him suspicious, company told lies to get him seen again my occupational health, only seen last year, declared him fit for all duties apart from traffic health snd safety risks. Employer now saying he can only do 10 % of job role.  Lone working was removed but don’t know when and by whom, and lone patrols taken 2 months after occupational report that said ok, this was because of frequency of seizures that year, when records have been checked 3 in 8 months.   Have contacted the union not helping, already had access to work for taxi waiting on recall for another assessment with a view to job aide or support worker, not sure if he will qualify and if his employer will allow it.  When he isn’t having an absent seizure he is able to carry out everything, no set routine or warning of seizures, he is reliant on other people telling him he has had one,  I know about reasonable adjustments and the equality law, but don’t know in practice what is allowed and what is not allowed, I know they have a duty of care to him, but he also wants and needs to be in work as he has a young family, he is currently stood down and has been for 5 weeks awaiting for a occupational health assessment he is on full pay but is worried about the future , he is waiting for acas to call