Home Ownership — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Home Ownership

Options
fieldsofnew
fieldsofnew Community member Posts: 46 Listener
Hello, so after reaching out to citizens advice who cannot advise - and property developers who have no real interest in advising, I thought to ask here. Where I have always found support and help.

I have been on a journey with mental health and receive PIP and housing benefit with severe disability premium. I have been employed for three months now working as an activities coordinator for those with dementia and my employers say I do incredible work. I understand and care. 

I live in Suffolk and am trying to own my own home. I'm 34 and I really need to be paying into my own home now as I have personal ambitions to have children and work as a play therapist from home/as addition to employment. I don't have a lot of time. I have my degree and this is the next step I need to take. The right foundation for my life.

I've been researching shared ownership and equity loans and H.O.L.D and I'm not sure which is the best option. Realistically. I live alone. I earn around £15,000 per annum.

Today I am printing out letters to send to my MP, local council and parish, and potentially to developers also. I know of someone who is planning to build locally to where I am safe to live and I just wonder if I have the right information or affordable housing scheme to back me up that I might be able to present this to him as a way to buy one of his houses. 

I must say that I need a two bedroom house with a garden and conservatory to live a kind of life. I have lived in flats and one bedroom places since I was 16 and I just know that it no longer fits my life and way of working and being. Especially with my career and personal life aims. I don't think its too much to ask.