ESA to UC then back to ESA? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

ESA to UC then back to ESA?

littleacorn
littleacorn Community member Posts: 367 Pioneering
If you claim contribution based ESA support group and after awhile, need to claim income based UC. If your circumstances change again can you revert back to claiming your ESA contributions based suport group award?

Comments

• calcotti
    calcotti Community member Posts: 10,010 Disability Gamechanger
    If you claim new style ESA and are awarded it you will continue to receive it even if you later apply for UC. The amount of UC you receive will be reduced by by the ESA. You would therefore get fortnightly ESA payments and monthly UC payments.
    Information I post is for England unless otherwise stated. Rules may be different in other parts of UK.
  • littleacorn
    To clarify I have been claiming ESA contribution based for 5 years and in the support group with no UC claim as Im not entitled to it as I live with my partner who works. However as a change of cicumstances I may have to claim UC to increase my income as I may soon be on my own.  What I want to know is if in the future my cicumstances revert back to living with my partner will my ESA claim revert back to being contribution based in the suport group only or will I have to make a new claim for ESA?
  • woodbine
    woodbine Community member Posts: 11,519 Disability Gamechanger
    @littleacorn I think you can only take one step at a time tbh.
    2024 The year of the general election...the time for change is coming 💡

• calcotti
    edited March 2021