I have fibromyalgia, spinal cyst, IBS, anxiety and depression. I might have to stop working — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

I have fibromyalgia, spinal cyst, IBS, anxiety and depression. I might have to stop working

Lallysmum2030
Lallysmum2030 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
edited September 2021 in Work and employment
Hello lovely people, 
I’m new, hoping I can feel less alone by joining here. 

I’m a part time dental nurse, I really love my job. 
I’ve had fibromyalgia for years but was only diagnosed a few years ago. I was awarded the disability part of universal credit for limited capacity to work, back in 2018. 
As well as fibromyalgia I have a cyst in my lower spine, IBS, anxiety and depression. 
I’ve been told I’m a really upbeat person and I love making people laugh, even if it’s at me! I feel that not everybody has the privilege of growing old. 

But, my pain has been getting worse, my sick record is getting bad again at work, I’m struggling to walk up and down the stairs to my flat (I’m hoping I will be moved to a ground floor flat) 
today I had to finish work early, my mum picked me up to take me home to my flat, the pain in my back was unbearable. I cried, sobbed. I’m fed up. I want to work and make a difference to others. But it’s looking increasingly likely that I will have to give up my job. How will I have any purpose in my life? How can I be part of the world? 
I’ll be able to manage my condition better. But how will I mentally cope? 
Thank you for listening x

Comments

• janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi and welcome to the community Feel free to join in or ask any questions 

It is difficult to finish work and takes a while to adjust bur you will over time and wonder how you found time to work 

You can take up hobbies,  study  writing anything you have interest in 
  • chiarieds