Getting the courage to open up to the PIP people and filling in the form. — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Getting the courage to open up to the PIP people and filling in the form.

Options
tazzy_956
tazzy_956 Community member Posts: 15 Connected
Hi, 
I'm new to PIP and I don't know what to expect. I tried to complete it last year but gave up because I didn't know what to write. Now looking back on it, it was a shame that stopped me from filling in the form, I didn't want to be honest about how my mental health condition affected me. It really scared that people would find out the truth about me. The only people who do know are my family and that's how I wanted it to stay but I was struggling and my family does not know how to help me. I'm desperate and really want some advice on how, to be honest with the jobcentre staff as I still feel a sense of extreme embarrassment about how I am and if I'm completely honest, I blame myself for it. How do I tell the truth without sounding like a complete idiot or desperate but tbh I think desperate is a good thing as I am desperate and I do need help. What do I do? 
Please and thank you :) 

Comments

• chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,103 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    I think we all have some difficulty in describing how we are whatever our problems, but remember, it's not about your diagnosis/disability, but how this affects your daily life, etc. with regard to the different PIP activities/descriptors.
    Try & give a couple of recent, detailed examples for each applicable descriptor, i.e. when did it happen, what happened, why, did anyone see what happened, & if applicable, how did attempting/doing it make you feel afterwards?