Help with research on autism and mental health — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Help with research on autism and mental health

maddy5
maddy5 Community member Posts: 7 Listener

Hello, 

I am a student and currently doing a research project entitled 'What are the causes of mental illness in autistic girls and women?'. I'm making a survey to send to students in my school to gather data. 

I am autistic myself, but before I send out the survey I would really appreciate some other autistic people's input. Please could you read my draft of the questions attached to check I haven't used any improper/outdated language or too intrusive questions etc. 

Thanks! If you have any comments/advice about what I should put in the survey please tell me 

Survey:

1.       Have you ever seen an autistic character in a film or TV show? (Where it was explicitly stated that they were autistic) Yes, no, I don’t know/I can’t remember

2.       Have you ever read about an autistic character in a book? (Where it was explicitly stated that they were autistic) Yes, no, I don’t know/ I can’t remember

1/2a. If yes, in your opinion how were they portrayed/described in general?

1/2b. Was their autism shown as a ‘problem’, for example for their family/friends? Yes, no, I can’t remember, other comment

1/2c. Was the character male? Yes, no, I can’t remember

1/2ci. If no, what was their gender?

1/2d. Did the character have many friendships? They had lots of friends, they had a few friends, they didn’t have many/any friends

1/2e. How old was the character? Up to 5 years old, 5-10 years old, 10-15 years old, 15-20 years old, over 20 years old, I don’t know

1/2f. Did the character have any mental health problems that were shown, explicitly or implicitly? Yes, no, I don’t know/I can’t remember

1/2fi. If yes, can you give more detail?

1/2g. If the character’s interests were described, what were they?