Why is life made harder for disabled people? Continued — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Why is life made harder for disabled people? Continued

Options
Nikkinakinoonoo
Nikkinakinoonoo Community member Posts: 3 Listener
I am new to caring - I have been looking after a friend for 24 hrs once a week for the past couple of months. I must say how shocked I am at how appalling the system is for disabled people, obviously I am only just learning. My friend has cerebral palsy and is wheelchair bound and only has the use of one hand. They need someone with them 24/7, to take care of them i.e. wash them, feed them, hoist them to bed, take them out to appointments, clean the house etc. This is just a little background. The main point I wanted to make was; I have recently learned that my friends care package will be or likely to be changing in 2015 which means they will no longer be entitled to 24 hour carers due to budget cuts. So after they have their dinner at 1pm say, they would be left alone until 4pm (say) to cut the cost of a carer being present. Utterly shocking. Leaving a severely disabled person alone because the government are looking for areas to make cut backs? Let me tell you something, cutting back on disability funding is not it - look else where. I realise there are people who cheat the system but I am focusing on the people like my friend, and please, I am new to it all so feel free to enlighten me. My friend being left alone would be out of the question. In my care they vomited in their sleep in the middle of the night. Fortunately I was awake and I went straight to their aid. Now what if they were alone? Are they expected to wait around for help to arrive while they lie in a pile of vomit? What if they had chocked to death? Panic button you say? Not as effective as a human I am afraid. Today in society we must adhere to policy on equality, discrimination and prejudice - so why are the most vu