TROUBLE WITH HOMEWORK — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

TROUBLE WITH HOMEWORK

QUINNEY5643
QUINNEY5643 Community member Posts: 5 Listener
edited September 2014 in Education
My 10yr old with CP is in mainstream middle school and is now receiving homework that has to be handed in the next day. He is so physically and mentally tired after school that he simply cannot cope with more learning when he gets home. Do I suggest to school he gets 'special treatment' and be allowed to get away with homework and perhaps just get it at the weekend or is this a contradiction when I ask that he be treated just like everyone else????!!!!

Comments

• James2
    James2 Community member Posts: 16 Listener
    I think he should have more days to hand in his homework to help him.
  • Ikeysmum
    Ikeysmum Community member Posts: 10 Listener
    I'm an experienced teacher and I don't expect ten year olds to hand homework in the next day. It is generally school policy in most schools to allow 2-3 days for homework completion. Ask your school if you could see their homework policy, or look and see if they have it on their website, if you want to find out without asking them direct. Sometimes all the school policy documents are on there. It's a list of agreed practices. If it states there that they receive it three times a week, but have 2-3 days to complete, for example, then you can ask why they are being given it to be completed for the next day.