Do we as parents have the right to choose a school for our son? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Do we as parents have the right to choose a school for our son?

Snazzy
Snazzy Community member Posts: 2 Listener
This discussion was created from comments split from: Hello my name is Hannah and I'm an educational psychologist.

Comments

• Snazzy
    Snazzy Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Hi Hannah, my son is four he has a diagnosis of ASD.He has just been awarded a statement of special educational needs. They have suggested heat tends an inclusion base within a mainstream school. This is because at present he has academically mainstream ability. He is academically average due to the hard work and one to one teaching (out of the classroom environment) he teaching assistant has put in this school year. Without this the per school and myself feel he would be below average. The inclusion base they have chosen is not what myself and husband feel would best meetCharlie's needs. My question overall is do we as parents have the right to choose a school for our son? We would like him to attend the special needs school close to our home the children who attend there have mild to moderate asd or mild to moderate learning difficulties. Myself and my husband have been to view both the inclusion base and the special needs school. Prior to the local authority making their decision we knew the special needs school was right for Charlie he was jut like the children there and the support available is what he needs. Particularly from a safety point of view. The inclusion base would expect Charlie to go the toilet outside the class room alone. This would not be feasible Charlie would not come back to the class room he would wander around the school. There are lots of other points I have, but I don't know where I stand ,with regards to the local authority's decision. Hope to here from you soon a very stressed mum.