Help requested from someone who has Cerebral Palsy — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Help requested from someone who has Cerebral Palsy

BarbaraNeill
BarbaraNeill Community member Posts: 6 Listener
edited September 2014 in Research and opportunities
Hi, I am a writer (and hypnotherapist), from Maidstone in Kent. I am planning a novel in which the main character has Cerebral Palsy. I plan to present the main character in a very positive way in which his disability doesn't hold him back, while acknowledging the difficulties he experiences. I would be very grateful if I could make contact with someone who has Cerebral Palsy, who would be willing to help me with my research into the condition and to help me to gain some insight, (albeit in a small way), into how it feels to experience life from the point of view of someone who is living with Cerebral Palsy. With grateful thanks, Barbara Neill

Comments

• milo
    milo Community member Posts: 129 Pioneering
    edited September 2014
    Hi, did you have any particular form of CP in mind? it's just that the condition varies dramatically person to person. To give you an idea, I have spastic hemiplegia and could walk until fairly recently but now permanently use a wheelchair, whereas someone else may have a form that affects their speech or require 24 hour care.
  • BarbaraNeill
    Hi Milo,

Thank you very much for your reply.

The character in my story is able to walk and works in an office. His speech is affected to some extent but, frankly, I would welcome anyone who is happy to talk to me about how they personally have been affected, with regard to experiences growing up, how they have been treated by other children during their formative years, etc. I really want to develop a character who is thoroughly believable so any help with that would be very much appreciated.