What do I do? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

What do I do?

zesty
zesty Community member Posts: 2 Listener
This discussion was created from comments split from: Hello my name is Hannah and I'm an educational psychologist.

Comments

• zesty
    zesty Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Hello Hannah. My eldest child is experiencing behaviour problems at Primary School. For the past two years he has been involved in situations where he loses his anger and the teachers find it difficult to restrain him. Situations such as being picked on my other children, being pushed into etc. He has been working on this at school. This week i was told to collect my child from school because he was refusing to do the class work set by another teacher (not his class teacher) and was being disruptive (by banging the ruler on the desk) to the rest of the class. I explained to him that this was wrong and not acceptable. He said he was not being supported by the teacher! At home he is fine and I have never had complaints from out of school clubs, tutoring, parties he has attended etc. only school. He is a bright pupil sitting his SATS soon. I have a numerous meetings with the school but always feel I am not being listened too. My concern is that as he is going to be starting high school in September, I don't want his anger to become an issue there too. It has been suggested by the school that he be assessed by an educational psychologist but my child does not want this. What do I do?
  • EducationalPsychologist
    EducationalPsychologist Community member Posts: 118 Courageous
    Hi Zesty
    For some reason I have not been receiving email alerts so apologies my response is delayed.