What can I do? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

What can I do?

Options
Ilovefood
Ilovefood Community member Posts: 3 Listener
This discussion was created from comments split from: Hello my name is Hannah and I'm an educational psychologist.

Comments

• Ilovefood
    Ilovefood Community member Posts: 3 Listener
    Options
    Hi, I am very new to this forum but have some huge worries about my child. I am a single parent to three children, and the younger two both have additional needs. My younger child has a diagnosis of Joint Hypermobility Syndrome, but she does not cause me any real significant concern, unlike my middle child.

My son is 11 and a half and due to transition to secondary school in September. He has undergone paediatric care since he was an infant due to delays in meeting his milestones. He was diagnosed as having Global Development Delay at around the age of 3. Shortly after this the Speech and Language therapist added Verbal Dyspraxia to his diagnosis.

Since then he has transferred to a new paediatrician and is being seen more frequently again. The new pead maintains that he still has development delay alongside some learning difficulties. He also presents as a deaf child although his hearing tests repeatedly come back as the low end of normal and so should not be creating any speech difficulties. It has been considered that he may have auditory processing disorder but I am told that Leeds has no particular test for this.

However, this is digressing. The primary school - he started in year 3 when i removed him from his last school as they refused to admit he had any additional needs after forcing me to decide to keep him a back a year in their school nursery because developmentally he was not ready for Reception. They then on the social workers insistence moved him into his correct cohort half way through year one which means he has missed an entire year of his schooling.