The dodgy spine issue — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

The dodgy spine issue

suebedoo
suebedoo Community member Posts: 6 Listener
Hi,
I've just joined Scope & already I'm really happy that I have. I'm 45 and have a crazy sense of humour, I've just been awarded pip for my health problems, but my moto is definitely, "I'll get there eventually!" I'm studying various courses & atm I'm doing diet & nutrition and creative writing. I'm hoping to eventually be able to write my own articles that are both informative and funny.
I spend most days hobbling and limping about, the funny looks I get are amazing, the most usual one is "she's a bit drunk" which I usually reply with, "no I'm not, I just happen to have a rusty slinky for a spine!" I often have people shout at me as they assume I'm hard of hearing, they seem surprised when I explain my patch isn't due to my ears, it's there for pain relief.
My mum also has disabilities & has been wheelchair bound for several years. I was shocked the first time I went shopping with her, to see people leaning over her chair while she was stationary viewing items on the shelf. A quick beep from her chair soon made them jump in surprise and my mum.saying, "while you're standing over me could you pass me a bottle of that sauce please" I couldn't stop laughing!
It's tough somedays, but I use my sense of humour to keep me going. If only I had a £1 for everytime I've been asked what's wrong with my legs, (when it's my back) I'd be a very rich woman!
I love it when people say, "why are you walking funny?"
"because I'm auditioning for a part in the film, Ministry Of Silly Walks!"
Prejudice and ignorance needs to stop. We are people with so much to give to this world, whether our disabilities are visible or not, together we prove and show just how magnificent each and everyone of us are!

Comments

• Emma
    Emma Community member, Scope Member Posts: 85 Connected