School senco conversation have left me with some questions /concerns — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

School senco conversation have left me with some questions /concerns

Options
bigmouth
bigmouth Community member Posts: 3 Listener
This discussion was created from comments split from: Hello my name is Hannah and I'm an educational psychologist.

Comments

• bigmouth
    bigmouth Community member Posts: 3 Listener
    Options
    Hello Hannah, I would appreciate your input as I have had some rather difficult conversations with my children's school senco and it has left me with some questions /concerns.

My daughter is 9 and in yr5 she was diagnosed with High Functioning Autism and coordination difficulties last year and started middle school in September with this diagnosis and accompanying reports.She has struggled with various elements of school, for example, getting changed for PE, concentration in lessons and walking home from school - the SENCO has been very helpful and various things are in place to help but my daughter does have a lot of anxiety around school, self esteem issues and she struggles to do the set homework in the time allowed. I am concerned that while she is bright enough to manage so far, she will get left behind as the requirements of school work get more onerous and her lacking in writing/ presentation/ concentration skills and the rigidity of thought she struggles with daily, will create barriers to progress.

I am already seeing this pattern as my older son (on waiting list for diagnosis but is probably HF ASD as well) in yr 7 is causing difficulties with his apparently belligerent attitude towards lessons/ skills (presentation/ handwriting - "I can read it" ) that he cannot see the need for and huge anxieties and gaps in understanding in some subjects that are all the more obvious as he is placed in top sets.