direct payment — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

direct payment

kenny
kenny Community member Posts: 74 Courageous
Does any one have a problem being told what tobspend their direct payment on?

Comments

• Mickey
    Mickey Community member Posts: 16 Connected
    Hi Kenny - it would be interesting to hear more about this. Who are you having this problem with?
  • kenny
    Hi mickey, my local social services, object to me spending my direct payment on taxis, which help me get out and about, although I have been spending it on taxi fares for seven years. Their reason being is that I am in receipt of high rate DLA and also have a mobility car which my dad takes me out evening and weekends, he works during the day which leaves me stuck at home. I am entitled to the money, why should I be dictated to, when non disabled people who claim benefits are not told what to spend their benefit on, I see this as discrimination, what do others think?
  • Debbie_Alumni
    Debbie_Alumni Community member Posts: 932 Pioneering
    Hi Kenny,

We've done a little looking into this for you but there are mixed views around the use of direct payments to pay for transport costs.

The Department of Health Care and Support Statutory guidance states in point 12.34 "The direct payment is designed to be used flexibly and innovatively and there should be no unreasonable restriction placed on the use of the payment, as long as it is being used to meet eligible care and support needs.” 
    https://www.gov.uk/guidance/care-and-support-statutory-guidance

Technically you should be able to use direct payments to pay towards transport costs as long as it is to meet eligible needs.

It would be worth reading through your care and support plan to see how it is worded. C