Esa — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Esa

Options
MarleyMoo
MarleyMoo Community member Posts: 2 Listener
hi I'm new to this and feeling a little bewildered. I have received ESA for the last 3 yrs and have recently had a medical assessment and Dwp have now stopped my money and advised me to sign on to job seekers. I was assessed Aug last year for pip and received both components at the higher rate,this was granted until 2020. I have rheumatoid arthritis which affects nearly every joint in my body, I am on lots of medication and often have to have steroid injections when I have a flare up. My mobility is poor and my daughter comes to my home twice a day to help me. In the report there are things that were never discussed and things that were untrue. I have asked for a mandatory reconsideration ,this is where I am really unsure what I need to do,and what I need to say. Can anyone help me ?

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 126 Listener
    Options
    Hey MarleyMoo,

You might find this factsheet helpful:

I would advise you to familiarise yourself particularly with Appendices 1 & 3  - they detail the way assessors calculate the number of points you accrue during the work capability assessment, and whether you'll be placed into the Work-related or Support group.    
    You can use this knowledge as a framework to make your case.