I'm at my wits end — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

I'm at my wits end

Comments

• lulu1963
    lulu1963 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Hi my son is nearly 18 
    he doesn't sleep . He is so aggressive and literally leaves bruises on me and he says he is lonely and wants a girl friend. He Denys his disability . I am at my wits end please help x
  • KENDAL123
    KENDAL123 Community member Posts: 7 Connected
    Hi my son is only 5 he lashes out at the smallest things its been really hard to come to terms that he has learning disabilitys . But am scared that his behaviour will get worse
  • Blue Frog
    Blue Frog Community member Posts: 358 Pioneering
    edited August 2016
    Hi @lulu1963 and @KENDAL123 hope you are both ok. Sorry it isn't something that I have a lot of experience with, but @BethSlade has put some useful links on another thread: https://community.scope.org.uk/discussion/29715/teen-with-asd#latest
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 126 Listener
    Hey @lulu1963 that sounds really tough - quite a few different emotions going on there. Let's unpick. 

Firstly - the aggression.  Are you safe? Do you have support?

Are you able to attribute the aggression to a particular cause or trigger? if it's related to the lack of sleep, you might want to check out these tips - and maybe look at getting a sleep practitioner in to see if there are things that can be done to support.

Is it related to his condition or some other frustration or something that's difficult to express? If so there are some techniques on the national autistic soc website worth a read.  Also challenging behaviour foundation has good resources.

when you say he denies his disability- what do you mean?  Does he have no insight, is it that he's minimizing the effect, does he not like the 'label' of disability, etc etc?   Would talking to a professional be of help?

A word on relationships...