Help — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Help

Kristan08
Kristan08 Community member Posts: 4 Listener
edited September 2016 in Work and employment

Hello im new to this im 33 years old insulin dependant diabetic not to well controlled, registered disabled due to knee injury have to use crutch to walk suffer severe depression, self harming which i have tried to keep at a low which is going well i also have memory problems due to brain damage short and long term i like many others find it very difficult to survive on the money i am given. I am willing to work if they can help but as far as ive been told no-one can, could someone please help me i cant understand how it can be said theres no work i can do but it seems fine to lower the money i can live on tho the prices of everything rises constantly and also i would love to do the same as others work have a family live life as any other would do tho it seems imposible at the moment because just making it week by week is a struggle 

Comments

• Debbie_Alumni
    Debbie_Alumni Community member Posts: 932 Pioneering
    Hi Kristan08,

I can't help but step in as a benefits adviser to check with you what you're currently receiving and whether there are ways in which to maximise your income through the benefits system in order to give you some space to recover and get the treatment you need to stabilise things and make you stronger and ready for work.

You're absolutely right that the pressure is on to work even if you're not fit for it, yet the money you need to live on gets less and less. This is not how our welfare state should work although I do appreciate it certainly seems as though the benefits system is working against you rather than for you.  I would like to talk to you some more to make sure you're getting everything you're entitled to to help you through until you're better.