Disability benefits - How do I get started? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Disability benefits - How do I get started?

Options
lorraine89
lorraine89 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
hey everyone, I am very new to all of this and need some help and don't know where to start ! i have epilepsy was told about this ten years ago, i have two children and expecting another two next year yes, i do not do things by half! The other day i was hospital after having another 15 seizures and stopped breathing this time too. i do work but its getting dangerous and now pregnant again my fits will get worse they always do when hormonal. Family member's to me i can apply for a disability allowance and get my self sorted out, only problem is i do not know where to start. any help and advice would be so much appreciated !! thank you so so much, lorraine. 

Comments

• abstractLucas
    abstractLucas Community member Posts: 76 Connected
    Options
    Well, hi Lorraine, and congratulations!  

I'm sure @BenefitsTrainingCo will be able to advise you on the details, but if you check out the Scope pages on disability benefits here http://www.scope.org.uk/support/disabled-people/check-benefits and have a read about PIP (personal independence payment, which is replacing disability living allowance for new claimants), and also ESA (employment and support allowance, the 'new' incapacity benefit).  PIP is not means tested so you can claim whether or not you're working, while ESA works a bit differently.  Getting either of these then potentially makes you eligible for other things, such as housing benefit/council tax benefit, depending on your financial situation (if you have savings etc).