work — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

work

Options
butter1962
butter1962 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
hi i am new to group i have just been awarded standard living pip and enhanced mobility i am now on jsa as atos said i could work last year now i have been awarded standard livingi am hoping to go on esa my partner has now put in for carers allowance but i am wondering if i will be put in the work group of esa as i need help with toilet and basic things that my partner helps me with and if i had to take a job i would be so humiliated for a stranger to have to pull my pants up just wondering if anyone has any advice i have worked all my life as a chef which through my lower body disability i can no longer do thanks for reading 

Comments

• Alex
    Alex Posts: 1,305 Pioneering
    Options
    Hi @butter1962,

Hope you're having a good day! Welcome to the community. I hope you find it useful.

I've moved your post into our benefit advisor area - as they might be able to help you with your query. 

• butter1962
    butter1962 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Options
  • BenefitsTrainingCo
    BenefitsTrainingCo Community member Posts: 2,621 Pioneering
    Options
    Hi @butter1962

You appear to have some options here but it depends on your partner's circumstances. Are you claiming JSA as a single person or do you claim for your partner as well? Does your partner work?

If your partner claimed income support as a carer and included you in the claim as part of a couple you would receive more money than you would initially if you were to claim ESA as a couple. This would change if you were later placed in the support group of ESA but that can be a difficult outcome to achieve.

Please post back on here and we will advise you further.

Best wishes

Paul

The Benefits Training Co:

Brightness

Do you need advice on your energy costs?