Hi, my name is libra98uk! — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, my name is libra98uk!

libra98uk
libra98uk Community member Posts: 3 Listener
I'm a 56 year veteran of this world. Have several disabilities/illnesses/diseases, some of which have been around since birth and some newer ones, too. I don't tend to belabour my problens. I just get on.

I just needed somewhere to gain a little support...PIP and Atos have struck my world!
I've been on DLA for too many years and recently had to apply for the change over?!?! Anyway, I hear nothing from Atos or DWP until my DLA is cut and stopped. When I enquired, DWP said it was no longer in their hands, I was on PIP now. Apparently, PIP sent me a text???? then phoned me, on the number they sent the unanswered text to, then informed DWP I was an FTA at my assessment and they withdrew my application. All with no correspondence from either group. 
I only found out because I started to worry when DLA stopped and called them for clarification. I have had to restart the PIP process and it will be looked at in the new year. 
So, I'm going to have a wonderful Christmas. No money and mounting bills and debt.
How can the Government justify treating a disadvantaged group like they do?!?!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you,
Lynn.

Comments

• Chris_Alumni
    Chris_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 689 Pioneering
    Hi @libra98uk, sorry to hear of your troubles - I've moved your post to our benefits advisor's page, who may be be able to offer you some guidance.

• BenefitsTrainingCo
    BenefitsTrainingCo Community member Posts: 2,621 Pioneering
    Hello Lynn

I am sorry to hear about your difficulty in transferring from DLA to PIP.

You have done the right thing in making a new claim for PIP.  Will there however be a gap in your benefit from when DLA stopped to when you requested the new PIP form?