Ear Defenders for young children — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Ear Defenders for young children

Options
cruthe
cruthe Community member Posts: 1 Listener
edited December 2016 in Research and opportunities
Hi there,
 I'm a final year student in product design and I'm looking into ear defenders for young children, I want to make them something more desirable and comfortable to wear. Was wondering if anyone had any experience with them or just general things perhaps when using them that could be of help? perhaps how many people don't use them? and if kids tend to take them off?
Would appreciate any feedback :) thank you for your time.
Caitlin.

Comments

• Sam_Alumni
    Sam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,671 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @cruthe welcome to the community and I hope you get some ideas here that help.  

@VickiKirwin do you have any ideas?
    Scope
    Senior online community officer
  • VickiKirwin
    VickiKirwin Community member Posts: 69 Courageous
    Options
    Hi Caitlin

Sounds like a very interesting topic to investigate further! I have blogged about the type and range of ear defenders available for babies and young children which you can read about here https://kidsaudiologist.info/2011/09/04/protecting-young-ears-from-noise/ The range is pretty limited. In my experience most children will accept ear defenders if they don't like loud noise (i.e. if they see the benefit of them) but some will not wear them consistently if they are quite happy listening in loud noise (i.e. those wearing them purely to protect their hearing). There are also some children who have particular difficulties accepting any type of headwear, headphones, ear defenders etc, such as some children who are on the autistic spectrum. Happy to discuss further if you'd like too. Otherwise, good luck with your project.

Vicki

• Sam_Alumni