Hi, my name is joannarashelle! — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, my name is joannarashelle!

joannarashelle
joannarashelle Community member Posts: 135 Pioneering
edited January 2017 in Autism and neurodiversity
Hello there my name is Joanna  

I just wanted to say hello I struggle with mental health problems and a recently diagnosed Aspergers condition.. 

I adore anything to do with animals wildlife nature (I work as a Dog Psychologist and Behaviourist) and enjoy playing the piano and making people laugh and feel good 

I'm looking forward to a new voluntary position enabling school age children how to read, as a trained helper.

I have always felt different to others but didn't know why, I have been bullied on and off throughout my life though academically bright I struggle with social interaction and everyday things we take for granted, going into a shop is a major problem for me for example and though I want to be with others (I live on my own and have no family support.. in fact certain members of family have been the bullies!) I fear the social setting, though enjoy walking with friends and our dogs in beautiful areas. 

Although my 'disability' isn't visible to the eye I've always felt comfortable with people who have a 'disability' be it physical or mental.

Hello to you all and I'd love to make friends with you xxx

Comments

• Chris_Alumni
    Chris_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 689 Pioneering
    Hi @joannarashelle, welcome to the community, and thank you for sharing your experiences.
  • joannarashelle
  • mossycow
    mossycow Scope Member Posts: 500 Pioneering
    Oh my goodness! Hi there! I play piano too and help kids read at my daughter's school.  We don't have dogs as my husband and are are allergic but my daughter is desperate to work with dogs and horses when she grows up. 

What do you like playing on piano? 

How did you get into your work with dogs? 

Nice to meet you!