What are the benefits of an ASD diagnosis as an adult? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

What are the benefits of an ASD diagnosis as an adult?

SuzR
SuzR Community member Posts: 3 Listener
This discussion was created from comments split from: Hi, I'm Violet, ask me questions about ASD.

Comments

• SuzR
    What are the benefits of an ASD assessment, for mature adults?
  • Chris_Alumni
    Chris_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 689 Pioneering
    @Ariel thankyou very much for sharing your story and experiences with the community, I'm sure it will be of benefit to others.
  • VioletFenn
    VioletFenn Community member Posts: 124 Pioneering
    That's a really good point about accommodations, @Ariel - I've done the same as you and basically decided to be upfront about not being able to cope with phone calls. I can't get away with them entirely (as a freelance writer I sometimes have no option but to interview someone over the phone), but I feel so much better for just telling people!
  • Ariel
    Ariel Community member Posts: 16 Courageous
    @VioletFenn - My apologies, I have just discovered that there's an 'Ask an advisor' section, and that this question is in it. I hadn't realised there was a specific section for answers from advisors, oops!
  • MrsLogic
    MrsLogic Community member Posts: 42 Connected
    I don't regret getting a diagnosis at the age of 39 - it's helped me understand myself so much better than before.
    Jo, aka 'Mrs Logic'
    <a rel="nofollow" target="_blank" href="http://faspie.blogspot.co.uk/">http://faspie.blogspot.co.uk/</a>

• VioletFenn
    Ahahaha, no worries at all, @Ariel ;)

• davidj49
    davidj49 Community member Posts: 63 Courageous
    SuzR said:
    What are the benefits of an ASD assessment, for mature adults?