Hi everyone - Carer Allowance query — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi everyone - Carer Allowance query

Options
ollieandduke
ollieandduke Community member Posts: 178 Courageous
I have been claiming carer allowance since 2020 for looking after my wife who is disabled and needs help around the clock.
I received a letter friday inviting me to a voluntary interview under caution regarding working.
They advised me to bring a solicitor if needed but nobody else. This is a problem as my wife cant be left alone and i have nobody else to look after her.
I have filled in the form they sent me advising i cant go and a hand written letter explaining why.
My worry is now can the send police to my door and arrest me leaving my ill wife alone.

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,394 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    I would say it's unlikely they will send the police but your Carers allowance could be suspended if you don't attend. Have you been working and earning more than the weekly limit? Are you claiming any other benefits such as ESA?
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • ollieandduke
    Options
    Hi poppy my wife receives income related esa as a joint claim with me and she also gets enhanced pip for herself. I worked in 2020 but i declared it to carer allowance i just dont understand what there on about