Help with UC and WCA — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Help with UC and WCA

Options
Toni0831
Toni0831 Community member Posts: 9 Listener
Hi

I’m new to the whole process of health related claims as I have not tried to get help with these issues before. 

I have had anxiety and depression for a number of years. I also have a disfigurement from birth which has prevented me from leading a normal life as this also affects my mental health. I have only started the process of asking for help with these issues since October, and have handed in fit notes. 

I spoke to an advisor on the Scope helpline who advised me to ask for a UC50 form from the DWP. I have done this and I’ve been told they will make a referral for a WCA and to wait for them to get in touch. UC are only aware of my anxiety and depression diagnosis. They don’t know about my disfigurement and nobody has asked for further information on my issues. 

The advisor from Scope told me a referral is made on the 29th day after first reporting the health change. I have reported my condition two months ago. I don’t think there is much else I can do other than wait for the DWP to get in touch. 

I’ve never felt comfortable to discuss these matters with anybody other than medical professionals. These issues have taken a hold of my life and I really don’t know how to better myself. Ideally, I wouldn’t ask for help, but I don’t know what else I can do as I have struggled for so many years due to mental health and the disfigurement.