Would you like to improve your typing? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Would you like to improve your typing?

FinlayDuncan
FinlayDuncan Community member Posts: 5 Listener

I’m a masters researcher, currently working on a project to do with typing for those with any kind of limited mobility. Whether it’s typing documents, communicating online or creating input for a speech synthesiser, I’d love to hear about your experiences. As a designer and engineer, my goal is ultimately to create solutions to make this part of digital life easier and more efficient. Below are a few questions to get started.

I’m also keen to meet as many people as possible to try out some new ideas and get your feedback on what I could improve. If you have some free time (I certainly have a lot at the moment!) and would like to get involved, please let me know. Obviously this would take place over the phone/ video chat for now. Thanks!  

Questions:

• For what purposes do you type?

• How do you type? (which physical devices, which software etc.)

• Have you tried a number of options? What were they and how did you decide on one?

• What problems (if any) do you face around typing? 

• If you could change absolutely anything about the way you type, what would it be? 

• Have you at any point been able to write by hand with pen/ pencil? (with or without assistance)

• What has been your experience with using voice recognition as a method of typing?

Comments

• Denise11
    Denise11 Community member Posts: 99 Pioneering
    Hello Finlay.

Welcome to the community.  I'm pretty sure you will have a lot of emails coming your way even as I type which for people with hands problems takes ages.  It is made even harder when one also has speech problems and can't use voice synthesiser.   Yes I can write but then I can't read it back.   But being able to use a computer allows people to