Hi, my name is eb8757! — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, my name is eb8757!

Options
eb8757
eb8757 Community member Posts: 3 Listener
Good morning, any other night owls still up?  This is my first time - I'm a newbie I guess. Anyone out there?

Comments

• eb8757
    Options
    Does anyone have social anxiety problems that leads to isolation and loneliness? Anybody any suggestions for how to actually overcome this and meet people?
  • eb8757
    Options
    I don't think I've got the hang of this. I thought that I'd started a new discussion, but I'm actually replying to myself. Oh dear. Well, I did say that I was new to this! Anyone else out there besides me?
  • Tori_Scope
    Tori_Scope Scope Posts: 12,492 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hello @eb8757 :) Welcome to the community.

Don't worry, you've been posting in the right place! It'll just have been that other members weren't awake/online when you posted. I'm sure they'll pick it up this morning :)

In terms of social anxiety and loneliness, it can certainly be a difficult one. Is this something you've ever sought professional support for? Talking therapies can help many people with working through the difficult thoughts that make meeting people a challenge.

Are there specific things you get anxious over? I sometimes finds it helps me if I can break down why I'm feeling anxious about a situation or finding it more difficult to get out, as otherwise it all feels like an overwhelmingly general 'I can't do it!'.

Have you tried anything so far to help you push yourself out of your comfort zone a bit? Online forums are a good one, as they can help you to build your confidence in starting and maintaining conversations, finding common ground, and generally speaking with new people. 

Have you tried any online video call events? Would that be more or less  nerve wracking than an in-person event do you think?