Complete Novice

Options
nanaspain
nanaspain Community member Posts: 6 Listener
Hi, my 3yo granddaughter has recently come into my care and I’d like to know what financial support we can get in terms of extending our property so we have more room for her equipment. She has level 5 CP, fed by a feeding tube and has CVI. Her equipment includes standing frame, special chair, soon to be wheelchair, sensory tent, various sensory/sight equipment. Thanks 

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 57,306 Championing
    Options
    You can look at a Disabled Facilities Grant https://www.gov.uk/disabled-facilities-grants/eligibility
    The first step for this would be to refer your granddaughter for a needs assessment. You can do that here.

• Alex_Alumni
    Alex_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,561 Championing
    Options
    Hello there @nanaspain and a warm welcome to the community :) Thanks for explaining your query for us. How are you feeling about caring for your granddaughter?

I hope you'll find Poppy's reply helpful, I'd definitely encourage you to look into a needs assessment and a disabled facilities grant (DFG). 

Scope has information on grants home adaptions, if you'd like to read up on it further.

If there's anything else you need a hand with then please do let us know, and we'll do what we can to help out :) 
  • nanaspain
    Options
    Thank you Poppy, we have a OH visit booked in. I wasn’t sure of the criteria we’d need to meet. 

Hi Alex, thank you for asking how I’m feeling. Completely exhausted, overwhelmed, sad, happy, grateful, resentful and a little bit bored if I’m honest. Depends on the day/hour. I’m getting through one day at a time at the moment, not thinking too far ahead. It’s early days for us (4 weeks) so we’re still finding our way through the maze of health professionals and social workers. 
  • Alex_Alumni
    Alex_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,561 Championing
    Options