Uc. They're saying my backpay only starts from June and July, which doesn't make sense to me

Options
fana82
fana82 Community member Posts: 7 Listener
edited August 2022 in Universal Credit (UC)
Hi I am new to this. I wanted to asked about back payments if you are awarded lcwra. I applied for uc last year July then in September 2021 I gave my 1st fit note in October 2011 I was sent the uc50 form which I filled in qnd set off same month. I only had a video assessment in June 2022 and I have been awarded lcwra. I got a message in my journal today saying they own me back payment but its only starting from June and July which dosnt make sense to me.

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 57,284 Championing
    Options
    There’s a full 3 month assessment period waiting time. The extra money is then paid from the 4th month after you reported your health condition. 
    You must have also continued to send in fit notes without any gaps until a decision is made on your claim. Failure to do this can affect when the LCWRA element is paid from. Were there any gaps in your fit notes?
    If there wasn’t then the extra money should be paid from either Jan or Feb depending on exactly what date you reported your health condition/sent your fit note. 
  • fana82
    Options
    Hi I gave my 1st fit note on the 21st September and have had no gaps in them since. But the message today said they own me from June and July and I will get that payment in the next fee days 
  • poppy123456
    Options
    Was it your statement you received today? If so then money owed is always paid separately to your usual monthly payment.
    Before they can pay what they owe you they need to recalculate your past statements to see what you should have been paid and what you've already been paid. The difference between the 2 will be what they owe you. Once this is done you'll receive a letter on your journal telling you how much they owe you.