Blue badge without doctor's letter — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Blue badge without doctor's letter

Options
Biblioklept
Biblioklept Community member Posts: 4,698 Disability Gamechanger
Does anyone know if it's possible to get around the requirement for a doctor's letter for a blue badge?
My council states you require one but I will never ever ever ask my doctor. Not only is it impossible for me to get an appointment, I'm not good at advocating for myself and never get anything investigated or ask questions because I just can't do it. 

My conditions qualify me, but not the points in PIP to make it automatic. So I need a letter from GP/medical professional but I can't do that 

Would they make allowances if I explained?

Comments

• Hannah_Alumni
    Hannah_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,912 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hello @Biblioklept

I'm so sorry you feel you can't get that support from your doctor. I'm just going to link the NHS page about finding someone to advocate for you, if you feel it'll become helpful to you at some point. 

I have been reading the government website about Blue Badge requirements and it says;

If you are applying without one of the benefits, the application will need to be assessed by the issuing local council. To help assess the application, you’ll be asked to provide extra information depending on the answers you give when you are checking eligibility.

If you cannot walk or find walking difficult or you have a non-visible (hidden) condition, you will be asked to provide details of any: