Hi, new and need help with PIP please? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, new and need help with PIP please?

Options
jennyt3
jennyt3 Community member Posts: 3 Listener
edited February 2018 in PIP, DLA, and AA
Hi all,

Long story short: 
I am 27 years old and have scoliosis, developmental dysplasia of the spine, ehlers danlos syndrome, and (supposedly) fibromyalgia. I cannot stand up straight for the first couple of hours of the day, I experience frequent subluxes of various joints, including my jaw, knees, toes, and fingers. I struggle to walk around a small shop without sitting down. Since 2016 my partner has not worked, as I am unable to do basic things for myself, and do not leave the house alone for fear of subluxing something and having a fall (which was the ultimate reason for him eventually giving up his job in 2016 as he was working 3 hours away when I had a fall outside out daughters nursery). 
I work as an Independent Research Consultant, and have slowly increased my hours since my OH gave up work to try to support us, until I am now working over 100 hours per week. This is all getting too much for me, so I was recently persuaded to apply for PIP. 
Went for PIP assessment, told her my main issues were not leaving the house without another person, needing help washing my hair (or anything with arms above head), needing supervision whilst eating (subluxing jaw every five seconds whilst chewing is an obvious choking hazard), to name a few.  
Two weeks later I have had my decision back - 0 points.