Advice on being a caregiver — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Advice on being a caregiver

Options
mynameisdan
mynameisdan Community member Posts: 1 Listener
edited April 2021 in Autism and neurodiversity
Hi,

I'm looking for some advice, or to find someone in a similar situation

It's widely believed by my wife and several others that I have Aspergers to some degree. I will try and resist the temptation to go into all the symptoms, I'm sure by the very nature of this forum that people are more than aware. I work in IT which seems to suit me fine, in that I take pride in making systems work, and if I'm brutally honest, I care very little what people think of me in pursuit of that.

After I couldn't explain why I was the only person not crying at my grandfather's funeral, then my grandmother's and finally my own mother's funeral, we decided to look into it more formally, but I was (quite literally) laughed out of the GP office.

I have complete apathy for... well, anyone if I'm quite honest. Don't get me wrong, I'm polite and courteous when I need to be, but deep down, I have no real investment in anyone. I have little to no contact with the little family I have that's still alive, and that's never bothered me. 

The biggest and only exception to this, is my wife and two children. They are my world, I see them as an extension of myself. Whilst I still may need to be nudged every now and then to actually show that I care, I do feel it. Therein lies my problem.

My wife is sick.