UC Rent help with tenancy agreement — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

UC Rent help with tenancy agreement

Options
needhelp120
needhelp120 Community member Posts: 31 Connected
Hello, I've been renting a room from my private landlord for over 2 years now. When I first got my tenancy agreement there was a separate note with it saying that I'd also be expected to pay £52 on top of the rent for the water/gas and maintenance of the building. The next two tenancy agreements did not come with this note but it was the general understanding that the £52 must be paid each month on top of the rent and I have always paid it. I was just looking on the turn2us calculator and it said that you can include these charges with your rent with UC if you rent privately. I've just received my new tenancy agreement but there isn't a note with it stating I have to pay this extra amount each month, even though I do have to, to keep living there. But I understand that I would need proof of this to show universal credit a change in my rent. What am I best to do? Should I ask my landlord to amend my tenancy agreement and just change the rent to the full amount including the extra cost? or just ask him to add a line in it saying I must pay an extra £52 a month towards utilities/maintenance. It's kind of annoying I've been paying all this extra money which could have been covered by UC. I don't how to go about asking my landlord to amend my tenancy agreement, his incase he asks why. I don't really want to disclose that I am on benefits. Any advice is much appreciated. 

Comments