What do you think about this new navigation aid? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

What do you think about this new navigation aid?

Options
Stud_Eng
Stud_Eng Community member Posts: 7 Listener
Hi all, I'm new here. I'm a Biomedical Engineering student at the University of Bradford. I'm working with a team to make this cool new head-worn device to help people with sight loss. It helps to be more aware of surroundings by alerting the wearer of nearby obstacles.

I just wanted to know your thoughts, any comments or what you would potentially like/dislike about this?

I have added more detail in the reply below this.

I am happy to provide more details or/and specific questions to help get your feedback

Thanks

Comments

• Stud_Eng
    Options
    Imagine: As you are walking indoors/outdoors, there may be obstacles around you such as lampposts, cars when crossing roads or any other hazardous object.

The headband detects these kinds of objects and makes a noise or vibration to indicate the potential hazard. As it is worn on the head, it will be able to detect objects near the head and body (about 2m away).

The aim is to give people the independence and confidence to travel safely.

Please give some feedback (all thoughts and comments welcome:

Would you find this interesting? Is this a good idea? Would you find it useful or buy it? What features would you want it to have? Or what would you want it to do?
  • janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi there