UC compliance, desperately worried — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

UC compliance, desperately worried

Options
wargsnipe
wargsnipe Community member Posts: 3 Listener
I've got some severe mental health problems which mean I can't go out at all, can't make any calls, and extremely struggle with the most simple day to day things. I live alone and don't have any friends. I've been receiving UC and PIP for about 3 years after my support worker helped me with them when I ran out of savings. I no longer get any support help though as they said they don't offer long term support any more. I've been living on the bare minimum for many years and have been slowly paying off credit card debt since getting UC/PIP.

I had a compliance letter recently which said they wanted full bank statements and listed some accounts. I didn't recognise one so I looked it up and saw it was an investment account I opened over 20 years ago when I was able to work full time which I thought was empty and had forgotten about. I managed to get hold of the details and found it has quite a lot of money in it, taking me over the £15k max, though as I didn't know it was there it obviously hasn't been touched.

Now if I send this info I am guessing they will stop all my benefits and make me pay back everything they've paid me since I started the claim? Not only will that leave me with nothing but I won't have any money coming in and won't be able to sort out any new claim in future because I have no support help any more.