Information housing

RJPar
RJPar Community member Posts: 52 Contributor
I'm new to this & I'm sure like most people I don't want to be in this situation.
Currently I'm in temporary accommodation, being paid for by the council.
Now I'm on a council run site called home finder, you bid on property that you will never get unless you're band 1.
I'm band 3 & somehow I've been shortlisted 1-5, if for some bizarre reason I get to an interview stage, I have zero income, zero savings & on UC recently awarded (LCWRA 1st payment April) how does it work, my allowance is £116 a week, the property is sheltered flat, social housing & weekly rent is £175 how does that work? + Heating & electric, not to mention council tax.
How do I pay for it all?????

Comments

• Sandy_123
    Sandy_123 Scope Member Posts: 56,640 Championing
    Hi @RJPar you will get help with  some of your  rent and council tax like you do now. How much depends on your council rules and your income.

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 59,054 Championing
    At the moment your rent is being paid through housing benefit from your Local Authority.

If you move house unless you'll be living in either supported or temporary housing then your rent will be paid as part of your UC entitlement, so it will increase. You will need to report a change of circumstances on your journal and tell them you're renting from social housing.

The rest of the bills such as energy, water, food, phone etc etc you'll need to pay those yourself from what's left of your UC after your rent is paid. ( the same as you do now) You said you have zero income, which isn't correct because you're claiming UC (although it's a limited amount i agree)

Council tax reduction needs to be claimed from your Local Authority.
  • RJPar
    @poppy123456

Thank you very much for the information, but it looks like will be way out of my limited budget.
    What's the difference between supported & sheltered accommodation?
  • poppy123456