ESA Support Group - will Permitted Work (self employed) cause future problems? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

ESA Support Group - will Permitted Work (self employed) cause future problems?

Options
Mac_K
Mac_K Community member Posts: 5 Listener
Hi all, last year I was placed in the ESA support group (first time, so I’m new to all this).

I’ve now got the opportunity to do some self-employed work (low-key, from home, flexible) for a day a week, for a small local company.

I’ve read the official ‘permitted working / less than 16 hours / less than £152 a week’ permitted work - which it would be under this.  

But I wanted to get a sense of how this worked in reality.  Is it worth the risk?  Will it trigger a reassessment or cause future problems with staying on this benefit?  
In reality, I might not manage working for too long, or it might not pan out, but I’d like to try - but only if it doesn’t risk anything with the ESA Support Group benefit.

I’d appreciate any thoughts from your experience.  Thank you

Comments

• chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,125 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @Mac_K - & welcome to the community. So long as the work you do doesn't contradict your claim, which may then be questioned if reviewed, then this shouldn't cause a problem. You now can earn less than £167 per week:  https://www.gov.uk/employment-support-allowance/working-while-you-claim

• Hannah_Alumni
    Hannah_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,912 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hello @Mac_K