Hi, I have question about the impact of marriage on benefits! — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, I have question about the impact of marriage on benefits!

Options
masa
masa Community member Posts: 2 Listener

Hi all. I am a PhD student and I have a student visa living in London. recently my boyfriend has proposed to me. He has disability and receives ESA, PIP and housing benefit. Will our marriage impact his benefits? Because of his disability he is not able to work and I cannot support both of us as I can only receive bursary by the end of 2024 and I earn £900 a month for caring an old lady. Can you tell me if we get married whether he loses his benefits or not?   

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,380 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Getting married doesn't affect any benefits he's claiming. What will affect them is if you live together, even if you're not married.
    If you live together he will need to report the changes to ESA and tell them he's now living with you. They will then reassess his entitlement to ESA. If any part of his ESA is Income Related then any earnings you receive of up to £20/week will be ignored. For anything over this then his ESA will be reduced £1 for £1.
    If any part of his ESA is Contributions based this won't be affected.
    PIP continues as normal and won't be affected.
    He may want to take a look at claiming Universal Credit but use a benefits calculator to check entitlement or get a full benefits check from an agency near you. https://advicelocal.uk/welfare-benefits