If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, I am a PhD student

Options
LorriePhD
LorriePhD Community member Posts: 12 Listener
edited September 2023 in Research and opportunities
Hello,

I hope it is ok to post this on here, if not then I will delete it of course. I am a PhD student at the University of Suffolk examining the impact of Universal Credit on people with disabilities. I am in the active research stage at the moment (my 2nd year) but I have only managed to find two of the 15 participants I need so far. I've attached a poster I made with details of the study but the basic criteria is people who have made a claim for a current disability benefit (such as PIP), been denied by the DWP and then successfully appealed. I have had to limit my study to physical disability as the main condition claimed for, although I am interested in the impact on mental health as well. The interview consists of around 15 questions and can be done via Teams, WhatsApp or even voice call. If you are interested I can send further information, including ethical approval from my university, but there is no obligation to carry on with it. I want to disclose that I am a nondisabled researcher but I am aware of the importance of participant directed research and would love to hear about your lived experience of navigating the UC system. 

Comments

• Rosie_Scope
    Rosie_Scope Posts: 2,546 Scope online community team
    Options

The above post has been moderated and checked by the Scope Community Team