If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Looking for participants with experience of DWP, PIP, ESA, UC.

Options
LorriePhD
LorriePhD Community member Posts: 12 Listener
edited September 2023 in Research and opportunities
Hello,

I posted already but I don't think my title said enough about my research. I'm a PhD student at the University of Suffolk examining the impact of Universal Credit on people with disabilities. I'm in the active research stage (my 2nd year) but I have only managed to find two of the 15 participants I need so far. I've attached a poster I made with details of the study but the basic criteria is people who have made a claim for a current disability benefit (such as PIP), been denied by the DWP and then successfully appealed. I have had to limit my study to physical disability as the main condition claimed for, although I am interested in the impact on mental health as well. The interview consists of around 15 questions and can be done via Teams, WhatsApp or even just a voice call if you don't want to do a video call. If you are interested I can send further information, including ethical approval from my university, but there is no obligation to carry on with it. I want to disclose that I am a nondisabled researcher but I am aware of the importance of participant directed research. If you meet the criteria and want to have your experience of accessing the DWP heard then please do get in touch. I really want to hear from people who have been wrongly denied benefits because of the policies of this government. If you can email the address shown on my poster, or private